Influenster Review Spree #2

Happy Monday! Today I wanted to share with you the next item from my complimentary Influenster VoxBox, the Eva NYC Freshen Up Dry Shampoo. Eva NYC is a haircare brand started in Brooklyn in 2012. In addition to soaps and styling products, they sell a line of beautifully designed styling tools. I had actually heard of it only a couple months ago when I started seeing their products pop up in my local Costco store (that’s when you know you’ve made it to the big leagues!)

I have tried a fair amount of dry shampoos but always seem to run into the same problems:

  • White/chalky residue (especially annoying on my dark hair)
  • Sticky residue
  • Doesn’t make hair less greasy (in other words, it doesn’t actually do what it’s supposed to do)

Whenever I try a new dry shampoo I hold out hope that this will be my magic answer to everything. Let’s see how it did!

Before:

 

I sprayed on both sides of my part but in an underside just in case the white powder makes an appearance. The spray has a nice cooling sensation on the scalp and also has a fragrance which, while not unpleasant, can be a little strong at times.

There’s the unmistakable white powder.

I comb it out and massage it into the hair just like the instructions say to. 5 minutes later the residue had faded but was very much still there.

So while the product failed item #1, you can see from the following picture (after restoring the part) that the residue is successfully hidden underneath other hair. Although my phone camera quality doesn’t capture it fully, my hair looks quite a bit less greasy than before. My hair also feels fluffier, not sticky or grimy. I can now go about my day confident about not washing it for 2 days, even if I have to be careful about it moving around to much to expose the powdered roots.

 

Conclusion: Is the Eva NYC dry shampoo the answer to my dry shampoo prayers? Not quite, but it still does a pretty great job of absorbing oil and drying things up in there. Practically, the strong and long-lasting fragrance may not agree with my lifestyle so well because fragrances should be avoided in healthcare settings. However, this same feature may be a big draw for other people who want to get more bang for their buck!

 

*Disclaimer: I received this product for free for testing and review purposes. All opinions are my own*

4 thoughts on “Influenster Review Spree #2

    1. Thanks @mariiacano! I probably signed up a couple months and wrote a few reviews (about 10) before getting my first box! I haven’t tried the Living Proof product but I think I may have to now. Thanks for reading!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

