Influenster Review Spree #1

A couple weeks ago I was lucky to receive a complimentary box of samples from Influenster, a site that partners brands with consumers to try out and review their products. The samples can range from anything from cosmetics to household cleaning products to food. If you love trying new things and writing reviews, be sure to get signed up!


Throughout this week I will be doing a series of short reviews on the products I received from the Poppy Voxbox, a combination of skincare, makeup, and cleaning products. I had a lot of fun testing this stuff out this week and can’t wait for my next box!

 

Today I’ll be talking about the Rimmel ScandalEyes Precision Micro Eyeliner in Black. This eyeliner claims waterproof and last “up to 24 hours”. It comes in liquid form with a firm tapered brush applicator. My usual eyeliner is the Maybelline Line Stiletto Precision Liquid Eyeliner and has a very similar applicator that makes it simple to get a fast and clean line.

Compared to my usual eyeliner, the ScandalEyes seemed to settle into folds a little bit more, make it necessary to apply a few coats to get a full line.

3 coats later…

The applicator is firmer than the one I’m used to, so I had to be careful not to press too hard or it may feel pokey (a sensation you never want around your eyes!). The firmness of the point did help with the precision of application, and I felt like the results suggested much more dexterity than I can take credit for.

Although I wasn’t feeling adventurous that day and didn’t wear this out, doing a cat eye seems really easy with this applicator.

 

After coming back from classes about 9 hours later, it looked like the eyeliner had held up really well. The only issue I had with it was that it did seem like a chunk of it had come off in the inner half (the same area I had trouble with when applying), maybe because that area was around a fold and the opening and closing of the eye agitated the product over it.

I ended up taking my makeup off after about 14 hours (I didn’t get any pictures but it still looked about the same as hour 9, so although I can’t confirm whether it lasts 24 hours or not, I’m not sure anyone should have eye makeup on for that one regardless of circumstance.

One criticism I did have was that this product seems to smear off instead of flake off. The advantage of having eyeliner that flakes off is that its easy to just blow off the face. There were only 1-2 times throughout the day when I would absentmindedly rub my eyes, only to be greeted with a nondescript smear of black on my hands. Although there were mirrored streaks created on my face, the eyeliner shape/line was curiously not compromised during those episodes.

Overall, I think this is an okay product, especially for its price point. However, I think that there are comparably priced options that are either par or outperform the ScandalEyes.

One thought on “Influenster Review Spree #1

Leave a Reply

