Buxom “License to Chill” $10 Beauty Set

Happy Thanksgiving to my American readers! Hope you all had a great weekend of eating, drinking, being merry, and maybe even doing some shopping.

Regardless of your opinion about our subsequent “holiday” Black Friday, you have to admit that there are some pretty amazing deals to be found, especially for things that never go on sale–like beauty products. Over the weekend I saw markdowns from many major brands (Benefit and Giorgio Armani, to name a couple). However, what I was really looking forward to was snagging some great gift sets from Sephora.

Sephora carries gift sets year round for everything ranging from makeup to skincare to fragrance. These are a great way to save money on the cost of buying all the items individually, but they can still be expensive, many costing over $100. During the holidays, Sephora releases a large variety of gift sets for the $10-$25 range. These usually contain 2-4 items, typically mini versions of retail products.

Last year I picked up a bunch of these sets, both to gift to friends and co-workers, and also for myself to try out new products. The products ranged from things like Tocca fragrances to LivingProof hair products to Smashbox primers. Unfortunately, year after year more and more of the items are in the $15-$25 range. Alas, what is a bargain hunter to do?

Luckily, I was able to score a couple $10 sets this weekend, and I wanted to share one of them with you: the Buxom “License to Chill” 3-piece eye and lip collection.

 

Items Included:

(from left to right)

  1. Full-On Lip Cream (Kir Royale): Mini
  2. Full-On Lipstick (Havana): Mini
  3. Eyeshadow in Single Compact (Bold Bling): Full size

Try-on:

Items reviewed in order (left to right)

One thing to note about Buxom products is that all of their lip treatments have lip-plumping ingredients added. This often results in a mild “tingling” sensation. People report varying efficacy of the plumping effect itself. For your first time trying Buxom lip products I would recommend the usual precautions to check for allergic reaction: dab a small amount in a small area (on hand first, then lips) and immediately remove if pain or burning sensation is felt.
1. Full-On Lip Cream (Kir Royale): The fact that this is called “lip cream” is a little confusing to me. Out of the bottle it had the consistency of lip gloss. When it dried, it had a more matte finish– not sticky and only slightly shiny–but at no point it was what I’d call creamy. In addition, this product was much less moisturizing on the lip than the Full-On Lipstick.


The color is described as a “rich wine”, but it turned out much lighter than I would consider a “wine” color to be. I did only put one coat on, so maybe layering will deepen the color a bit? Regardless, I liked the color of this on much more than I did on swatching, and could see myself wearing this for an everyday look.

2. Full-On Lipstick (Havana): I really like how smoothly this one applied — it should’ve been named “lip cream” over the other one! The consistency was even and felt very moisturizing. To note, there is still the lip plumper present in this formula, but it is much less noticeable than with the lip cream.


The color is much more of a darker berry, described as “violet wine”, which will pair wonderfully for the holiday season. I only have one coat on here, so will expect it to be darker with more product. I’m excited to have this color in rotation for upcoming parties and celebrations!

3. Eyeshadow in Single Compact (Bold Bling): This one also applied very easily. The product was finely milled and went on smoothly with very little fallout. I used very little product for what I felt like was good color payoff.


The bold bling color is described as a “metallic rose gold”, but I would argue that it has hints of copper in it. This was especially apparent when applied on me. I’ll give this one a try, but I honestly don’t really think the color complements my skin tone. I can imagine it looking amazing on someone with much lighter or much darker skin.

Final Thoughts:

Overall, I thought that this gift set was well worth the money. I enjoy having smaller-sized lip products that are easy to carry around in my purse, and liked the colors I got. I am not sold on the color of the eyeshadow yet, but I am intrigued by the quality of the product. It may just be a matter of trial and error to figure out how to use it and what products to use it with.

At the time of writing, this set is out of stock on the Sephora website. However, as of earlier today, it was still available in retail stores, and should be selling for the $10 price until the stock is gone. If you haven’t made your yearly/monthly/weekly Sephora trip recently, I’d recommend running down there to snatch this deal up!

Leave a Reply

