Sample Sunday: First Aid Beauty Face Cleanser

Happy Sunday! Today I am trying out a sample of this facial cleanser I received at my last visit to Sephora. First Aid Beauty is a brand I’d heard a lot from friends, but I’ve never tried any of their products before. The product comes in 1oz-8oz containers priced at $5.50-$30 each.

s1217710-main-lhero
Source: Sephora

The product itself is a white pearlescent gel-like substance. I was not very fond of the odor, which smelled a bit…waxy? This may be good news for people with sensitive skin, as it likely means the product contains no fragrance.

 

Use:

I tried out this cleanser by incorporating it into my usual cleansing routine of makeup removal with my Foreo Luna Mini. I started out by wetting the face and applying a generous layer of cleanser all over the face:

 

Then, I used my Foreo for a whole 1-minute cycle:

S0080467

 

I rinsed off the excess and towel-patted dry:

 

The results:

I did a cleanliness check by swiping a cotton pad with Bioderma Micellar Water all over the face. Turns out was still a little makeup left on the face after cleansing with the First Aid Beauty Cleanser:

Afterwards, my skin felt slightly drier than usual, so I opted for a heavier night lotion to sleep in tonight.

The verdict:

I give this product an 8/10 for quality and a 5/10 for smell. The smell alone is enough to make me not want to use it, but I find that it also doesn’t perform as well as my usual products in cleaning or in moisturizing. As someone with normal/dry skin that is prone to acne I stay away from products that will dry my skin, especially since using heavier moisturizers can lead to more breakouts.

For now, I’ll be sticking with my usuals, Origins Checks and Balances and Kiehl’s Ultra Face Cleanser.

One thought on “Sample Sunday: First Aid Beauty Face Cleanser

Leave a Reply

