Eye Makeup Remover: Bioderma vs. Caudalie

Before discovering the brand Bioderma, I hated taking off eye makeup. It seemed like every brand I tried was skin-drying and/or stung my eyes. I think I actively resisted wearing eye makeup for years solely to avoid the ordeal of taking it off.

1370259187
Source: L’Observatoire des Cosmetiques

I found a miracle product in Bioderma Crealine Micellar Water (named “Sensibio” in English countries), which I picked up in my travels to Paris. Bioderma is all the rage over there, and for good reason: it is effective, gentle on the skin, and won’t break the bank. It worked like a dream, and I was suddenly able to load up layers of shadow, liner, and mascara without having to scrub it off at the end of the night.

The only caveat? Bioderma is much more expensive in the US than in France. A 250ml bottle cost about 3-4 euros there. Although it’s not currently available through Amazon, on the link above (Beautylish) it goes for $17 ($12 + $5 shipping) for a 250ml bottle.

Although this isn’t a bad price, I so hoped there was an alternative for whenever I ran out of my now-precious drops of micellar water.

cleansing-water_500x677_1
Source: Caudalie

Enter the Caudalie Micellar Cleansing Water. I had seen this in Paris but didn’t have enough room in my suitcase for another product. At $28 for a 200ml, bottle, however, I wasn’t to keen on purchasing it when I got back to the states.

However, just last month I was surprised to find it at none other than my local Nordstrom Rack store. At just $4.97 for a 100ml bottle (or $12.43 for 250ml), I knew I had to at least give it a shot given it’s lower price compared to the Bioderma. But if I was gonna convert for the long term, I needed to know: how do the two compare?

Time to stock up?

Being of a science mind, I knew I would only be able to convince myself of the results by designing a controlled experiment.

The test:

5 drops of each cleanser was applied to separate cotton pads. Each pad swiped one eye with 5 gentle strokes and the pad residue was compared. Then, the pads were flipped around and continued to be swiped over the eye until all makeup was removed.

The results:

Bioderma (left) vs. Caudalie (right) after 5 swipes

In terms of efficacy, the two cleansers were almost toe-to-toe, taking about 9 strokes each to remove all eye makeup I had on that day. I would say that the Caudalie took off slightly more residue in the first few swipes than the Bioderma, but that is hardly a useful advantage when the point is to take off all the makeup.

Bioderma (left) vs. Caudalie (right) after remaining swipes to complete makeup removal

One thing that may steer people away from the Caudalie is the fact that it has a slight fragrance to it caused by fruit extracts used in many of Caudalie’s products. Although I found the scent refreshing and not harmful, I also don’t have particularly sensitive skin, and could see it going awry for those that do.

The verdict:

Overall, I think that, given the discounted price and comparable performance, the Caudalie Cleansing Water is a fantastic alternative to the Bioderma Micellar Water, or at least it is a great substitute to use while you’re waiting for your next trip to France 🙂

 

2 thoughts on “Eye Makeup Remover: Bioderma vs. Caudalie

Leave a Reply

