Review + Demo: Anastasia Brow Studio Set

I snagged this Anastasia Beverly Hills Brow Kit at the Nordstrom Anniversary sale (now over…*tears*) and was excited to try out the three products included: dipbrow pomade, brow brush w/ spoolie, and brow gel. Now, after having used all these for a couple weeks, I’m ready to share my thoughts!

The products: 

Anastasia Dipbrow Pomade ($18): Comes in 11 shades, I use dark brown. Can be described as a thick paste.

Anastasia #12 Large Synthetic Duo Brow Brush ($18): Double-ended with a spoolie to brush out the brow hairs

Anastasia Brow Gel ($22): Clear gel with a mascara brush applicator.

The background: 

Although my hair is dark, I regularly fill in my brows for evenness and enhancement. I’d been using the Milani Brow Fix Kit for several years before I considered switching it up. Although I love the Milani powder for it’s ease of use and color payoff, I found that It just didn’t last as long as I would’ve liked.

Being new to Anastasia products, I watched several YouTube tutorials before attempting to start. Even so, I struggled with the product. The first attempt was too light, the second was too dark, and I couldn’t figure out how to draw a good shape. Nothing looked good, and I was convinced this just wasn’t the product for me.

Not wanting to give up just yet, I had the idea to go to my local Nordstrom to consult with an expert. I told myself, if they couldn’t make it work, then I would return it right then and there. That Nordstrom didn’t have its own Anastasia counter, but an employee named Emily at the Charlotte Tilbury counter was well-versed enough in the product to assist me.

Using the product that I’d brought in, she helped walk me through the steps (demo starts at 2:02)

The verdict:

Overall, these products are really good quality for the money. Each one will last a long time as long as properly cared for. I have heard about the pomade drying out, which can be helped by keeping the lid on tight when not in use. I do clean the angled brush daily to prevent buildup.

There is a learning curve to using these products, so for the less dextrous beginners, it can be a little frustrating to get it right at first. Eventually, you will become better and faster at it. Overall it still takes longer than just using a simple brow powder, but the flip side is that you won’t have to reapply it for any of your evening activities.

Thanks for reading and feel free to share your experience with these and other Anastasia products!

 

One thought on “Review + Demo: Anastasia Brow Studio Set

Leave a Reply

