#NSALE Buys

Don’t know what #NSale is? Check out this post!

FullSizeRender
Not pictured: Boxes of online orders (more than I’d like to admit!)

Just in time for the Nordstrom Anniversary Sale opening up to non-cardholders, I wanted to share some of the things I got from the sale, as well as some other recommendations for things I don’t personally need right now. A few of these items are currently out of stock, but if you have your heart set on something, be sure to bookmark and check back often as items get returned and restocked. Also check in your local Nordstrom store as their stock varies widely from the site.

Onto the clothes!

  • Thread & Supply Utility Vest $37.90 ($58 after sale): Probably my favorite purchase of this whole sale. Military green utility jackets  are all the rage and there are quite a few options available for the sale. I chose this vest for its price point and because I like the versatility of vests for a wide range of climates. The fabric is sturdy and holds its shape well without wrinkling, while the ties enable waist-cinching for a more feminine silhouette. Size down for this one.
  • BlankNYC Faux Leather Jacket $64.90 ($98 after sale): I have wide, rounded shoulders and thicker but shorter arms so it can be difficult to find jackets that fit well without alterations. In the family of (faux) leather jackets, this jacket is probably the closest I’ve ever seen to a perfect fit. It does run small as the review says, but when I sized up the fit was not nearly as good. At the moment I’m still trying to decide if the arms are just a tad too tight on me, and if I’m okay with a jacket that has no working pockets. This jacket comes in a few other colors, which unfortunately are not part of the sale.
  • BP. Long Sleeved Shirt $17.90 ($28 after sale): A great piece for the right body type, which unfortunately is not mine. The combination of the crew neck, extra long sleeves, extra long length, and dramatic high-low hem just didn’t look great for me. But if you are considering this, definitely go at least one size smaller unless you want an extra oversize fit.
  • Kut from the Kloth Diana Ponte Skinny Pant (petite) $45.90 ($69.50 after sale): The “Diana” cut from this brand is more of a straight leg than skinny leg. These pants are unbelievably stretchy and comfortable, almost like legging material but thicker and smoother. I passed on these because I ordered them as work pants, but the design makes them resemble jeans too much to be allowed there. In addition, even at the petite length, it was a skosh too long on me.
  • HUE Ultra WW Leggings $20.90 ($36 after sale): These feel like quality material and I am a fan of the wide waistband design. Still debating on these because while everything else fits, the waist seems a little looser than I’d like. I may pop into a Nordstrom store to try on a size down in person.
  • BP. Ribbed Moto Legging $24.90 ($38 after sale)The concept behind these edgier take on leggings was great. I loved the angled paneling (slimming, in theory) and the distressed wash of the colors offered. However, the stitching on the paneling can be constricting over any problem areas, namely at the calves for me. Sad to have to return these.

 

12361098

  • Hunter “Original Biker” Rain Boot (Kid) $68.90 ($115 after sale): I take that back, these may be my favorite purchase of the sale. They are really comfortable and I love the buckle detail that dresses up a plain rain boot–I’m almost looking forward to rain! If you have smaller feet (women’s size 7 and under), take advantage and get these over a similar women’s version that retails for over double the price.

 

  • Anastasia Brow Studio Set $36 ($58 value): I’ve been using my $7 Milani Brow Fix Kit for years with great results, but have been wanting to try Anastasia’s brow products from hearing people rave about them. The deal offered by the sale (essentially 3 products for the price of two) was too good to pass up. There was definitely a learning curve to using this product correctly, so I headed to my local Nordstrom and got a quick lesson from a makeup counter gal. The product lives up to expectations as far as long-lasting wear and product pigmentation goes (a little goes a long way and this little pot will surely last months if not years). As for whether the quality justifies the price, the jury will be out on that one until I’ve had a chance to use it for a few weeks.
  • Beauty Blender Kit $35 ($56 value): You can hardly ever buy the “real” Beauty Blenders at a discount, except at the Anniversary Sale! Check out my full review!

Things that I didn’t buy but YOU should consider:

  • Foreo Luna Mini $74 ($99 after sale): If you’ve read my full review you’ll know it’s inclusion on the list goes without saying
  • Zella Live-In Legging $33.90 ($52 after sale): I’ve found Zella to be comparable to Lululemon quality, but for lower prices, even when they’re not on sale. If you’re petite, you will need to wear them scrunched or get them hemmed, which can be done at any Nordstrom store.
  • Kate Spade Small Square Stud Earrings $20.90 ($32 after sale): I got a larger version of these last year and they add a really beautiful sparkle to any outfit.
  • Lorac ‘Refined Romance’ Eye & Cheek Palette $18 ($30 value): I am a fan of Lorac eye palettes and can attest to their quality of their shadows (I’ve used mine almost every day for a year and still haven’t hit pan on any of the colors). I’m sure the highlighters and blush also included in this palette are just as good. The compact design is great for travel and the price can’t be beat!
  • Nars ‘Nordstrom’s Best’ Cheek Palette $65 ($124 value): A great way to get some of the most popular colors of Nars blushes and bronzers at a huge discount!
  • Rebecca Minkoff ‘Jumbo Love’ Crossbody Purse $236.90 ($355 after sale): This is definitely a splurge/investment item but a really great one for anyone in the market for a crossbody bag. I caught Chanel fever while I was in Paris and although I could never hope to afford a real one, this one by Rebecca Minkoff is a beautiful look-alike of the popular Chanel Boy Chevron bag. As a plus, the strap is convertible into a shoulder bag length.
3 thoughts on “#NSALE Buys

Leave a Reply

